Jump to Navigation

Colorado Statute of Limitations Lawyers

Statutes of limitations restrict the time period that a person can file a lawsuit. These statutes not only vary by state, but they also vary by cause of action. In Colorado, there is a two-year statute of limitations period for general negligence and workers' compensation claims. Claims arising from auto accidents have a three-year statute of limitations, and those arising from medical negligence have a very strict two-year period. However, the date when the statute of limitations period begins running is not always obvious. This start date can depend on the case itself which makes it all the more important to discuss your case with an experienced attorney to ensure that you do not lose the right to file a lawsuit.

The following periods represent a small sample of the statutory limitations periods in Colorado:

Professional Malpractice: Medical malpractice, 2 years from the date the injury was or should have been discovered. However no medical malpractice claim may be filed more than three years after the act giving rise to the injury occurred.

Personal Injury: Under Colorado law the general limitations period for personal injury is 2 years. The limitations period for injuries resulting from a motor vehicle accident is three years.

Libel / Slander / Defamation: 1 year.

Injury to Personal Property: 3 years for property damage resulting from the use of a motor vehicle.

Product Liability: 2 years.

Contracts: Written, 3 years; Oral, 2 years. A two year statute of limitations applies to tort actions arising from breach of contract.

The following list is provided by way of example. If you wish to know how the statute of limitations applies to your specific situation, please contact the experienced lawyers at Kiel & Trueax for a free consultation.